A Milwaukee Journal article which provides information about the William Plankinton mansion, the Plankinton family, and the structure's time as an icon on the Marquette campus, written upon the event of the building's pending destruction.
Gesu Upper Church, 1908. The nave of Gesu Church is covered by a ribbed and vaulted ceiling, which ends in a deeply recessed sanctuary where the main altar stands. The main altar depicted here was replaced in the 1920s, as were the side altars. ...
The nave of Gesu Church is covered by a ribbed and vaulted ceiling, which ends in a deeply recessed sanctuary where the main altar stands. The main altar - made possible through the generosity of Mrs. Harriet L. Cramer - is made from marble...
Detail of the relief that appears about the main entrance to Sensenbrenner Hall. The relief includes a lamp and scales, ivy, two profiles, and the words "Marquette University Law" and "Frank J. Sensenbrenner Hall."
Main entrance to Marquette Hall from Wisconsin Avenue. Some detail work around the entry is obscured by ivy, but other features remain visible, including stained glass, columns, four shields, and other decorative work.
Two men and a woman walk up the stairs to the main Wisconsin Avenue entrance to Marquette Hall, circa 1948. Visible is the detail work around the entry, including stained glass, columns, four shields, and other decorative work.
Main entrance to Sensenbrenner Hall from Wisconsin Avenue, with minimal landscaping around the entry. Visible above the entry is an ornate relief inscription including a lamp, scales, and two profiles. Four grotesques also surround the entry.
Main entrance and north facade of the William Plankinton Mansion at the time of its destruction, 1969-1970. To the left, the College of Engineering is visible, as is the Dental School in the background.
Northeast view of the first floor main hall staircase in the Elizabeth Plankinton Mansion, displaying the intricate woodwork of the stairs and ceiling, which was found throughout the home, circa November 1973.
Main altar in Gesu Lower Church, circa 1950. On the altar are a crucifix, tabernacle, and candles. On the wall immediately behind the altar are portraits of two saints: Francis Xavier and Ignatius of Loyola. The walls to each side of the altar...
Main entry to Gesu Church from Wisconsin Avenue. Entrance to the church is made through a projecting vestibule, the front of which is composed of three Gothic arches. The arches are supported by clusters of four granite columns.
Main altar in Gesu Lower Church, November 13, 1956. On the altar are a crucifix and tabernacle, as well as candles and floral arrangements. On the wall behind the altar are portraits of two saints: Francis Xavier and Ignatius of Loyola.