This article describes how the Saint Joan of Arc Chapel is the newest jewel on the Marquette University campus detailing the complex process of moving and reconstructing a building and the steps taken to preserve the chapel's history.
Wounded Knee (S.D.) -- History -- Indian occupation, 1973; Vandalism; Ethnic conflict; Architecture -- Mutilation, defacement, etc; American Indian Movement;
Vandalized home exterior after occupation Verso caption: Mary's Home at Wounded Knee after the takeover by A.I.M. 2-27-73. Note by Archivist: Image captured after American Indian Movement occupation, which ended May 9.
Detail view of the brick veneer cavity windows and exposed aggregates on the exterior of Memorial Library. The aggregates serve a decorative purpose as a design motif and the utilitarian purpose as sun shades in 1978.
Booklet containing descriptions of the creation, installation, and history of the carillon. Also details inscriptions on individual bells, physical and musical qualities of specific bells, and a history of Marquette Hall.
William Wehr Physics Building, Marquette University; Wehr Life Sciences Building, Marquette University; Todd Wehr Chemistry Building, Marquette University;
Brochure printed for the formal dedication of the Wehr Science Center, which includes the Chemistry, Physics, and Life Sciences buildings, all funded by Frederic C. (Todd) Wehr and the Wehr Foundation.
Gesu Church interior, as seen from the sanctuary and looking back toward the nave and rose window at the north end of the building. The Gothic influence of the building is apparent in the ribbed and vaulted ceiling of the nave. The stained glass...
Pamphlet produced for the Memorial Library dedication on December 2, 1953. Inside are floor plans with a description of what materials can be found on each floor of the library. The pamphlet contains a short history of the different libraries at...
View of construction on the southwest corner of Memorial Library in 1952. Scaffolding is in place around the building and many of the exterior walls are still under construction. A variety of construction trailers surround the work site.
The north facade of Memorial Library while it is under construction in 1952. Framing is in place, but the exterior walls have yet to be constructed. In the foreground are stacks of lumber and tarp covered supplies.
Main entrance and west facade of the Brooks Memorial Union. A board outside the building is covered with flyers advertising campus activities and a Union events calendar is mounted to the exterior of the building. It appears to be a warm day in...